This rescue group has formed to find loving, forever homes for Icelandic Sheepdogs that have either been found as strays, placed in shelters, or turned in by their owners. NISRA is a 501c3 recognized nonprofit corporation.

Once the dog has been referred to NISRA, we will evaluate the temperament and physical health of the dog. A veterinary consult will be obtained, and necessary immunizations and medical care will be provided. Foster home placement will be secured, if needed, while we screen applicants who wish to provide a permanent placement for the dog.

We hope to serve as an educational resource about the temperament, physical attributes, and appropriate training techniques for our rescue dogs.


NISRA hopes to join with the Icelandic Sheepdog Association of America (ISAA), and the Icelandic Sheepdog International Cooperation Group (ISIC) in their efforts to preserve and promote the health of this breed, by finding new homes for rescue Icelandic Sheepdogs. We are establishing this website to coordinate our effort to match the rescued dog or dog in need of rehoming with a forever loving home.

If you possess an Icelandic Sheepdog in need of a new home, please contact us via this website. Please complete the Intake Application for Rescuing or Re-homing your Icelandic Sheepdog. There is a $30 fee for this application to help us fund this website, provide transport for rescues, and provide the veterinary care if necessary for rescues.

If you wish to provide a home for an Icelandic Sheepdog, please complete the Adoption Application. We will confirm the receipt of your application, and will communicate with you when a dog needs placement. If you wish, you can check in periodically to confirm your continued interest in rehoming an Icelandic Sheepdog. This application will be kept on file for 12 months after our last contact with the applicant. There is a $250 fee to adopt a rescued Icelandic Sheepdog. This fee will be entirely used to support the placement and care of future rescue dogs.

NISRA Board of Directors, 2016:

Loren Dribinsky, President
Karen Riggin, Vice President
Dawn Christensen, Secretary
Holly Kilpatrick, Treasurer
Gabi Vannini